kiss your life! – divinely timed graffiti

Last weekend I got to see a dear friend Monica for a lazy sunday afternoon – evening.

The whole evening was delicious, including the food she prepared, soul satisfying conversation and even some family videos.  I got a treat at the end of the night when Monica showed me a new flamenco choreography she is working on… and i got to see her original

my friend Monica Cortes dancing...in a beautiful portrait by Julieta Noé

my friend Monica Cortes dancing…in a beautiful portrait by Julieta Noé

movements, set to original music and fancy feet work.  I am quite a flamenco novice, but I am certainly enjoying learning more from Monica.  There is lots of passion, changes in energy, lots of emotive rythmic moments and you just kind of feel this history behind it… it holds its own tradition in the movement.  I got to be a good spectator and comment after the performance… and the one thing I observed that I shared at the end was… I wanted more pauses!  More stillness.  More moments to just let us be present with her in her experience.  That not every moment has to be full,  or filled up.  That in the pauses is when I remembered.  And I felt closer to her in the stillnesses, as I watched her dance unfold.

My comment sparked something inside me that I realized I also needed to hear.  This concept of pausing… and how it really has even deeper meanings for our lives.

I headed home pretty late after our lovely evening… caught up in thought and reflextion.  Sitting on the Metro Bus,  I glanced to my right out the window of the metro bus, with the light just right …I got a little Mexico City divine graffiti confirmation

just as I turned I caught a flash of Graffiti scrawled on a cement bodega.  It read:

LA PAUSA DIVINA DE UN BESO

(the divine pause of a kiss)

What a great confirmation!  I was so excited when I saw it!  And it is so true.  When we KISS, we don’t think about anything else.  There is something just so verbal and momentaneous about it.  You don’t KISS someone and think about how you need to do the laundry.  You KISS!  and you are there in that moment.  THE PRESENT.

SO, I WAS JUST SO EXCITED about the graffiti, of course I sent Monica a text right away… and then I not only drew the memory of it… but I just had to share it with you all in cyberspace.  🙂

a photo of my journal sketch... with awesome filters of course

a photo of my journal sketch… with awesome filters of course

To kiss your life.  Kiss moments that you want to remember.  Kiss them into pauses.  and let the pauses be luxurious and languishing.  We connect here with the sweetness of life.   We register it and remember it.  When a pause naturally comes in life, whether its 10 mintues waiting somewhere, a weekend off, or even a bigger pause like a job change or life moment or indescicion… let us embrace those pauses and kiss them too. This is where we also connect with the Divine.  In the silences… this is where we can listen.

In those pauses we awaken our desires and our heart.  Not in the busy-ness and the hustle – bustle.  In the stillness, in the patient waiting. Those who dare to be naked in the silence, in the stillness, in the pauses are those who can dance for no one, and still feel satisfied.  

Kissing this divine moment here with you.  

love,

Ashley

2 thoughts on “kiss your life! – divinely timed graffiti

  1. Que bonito y que fuerte, Ashley! For me the moment of pause is so important. You can feel and track it in space (THE SPACE) the moment between one movement and the other, the moment of transition, emptiness where there seems not to happen a lot but the empty space is underlied by the movement that just finished. The pause speaks about past leaving the space never still

Leave a Reply

